Standing Committee on Health Care

The Standing Committee on Health CareMedicine addresses medically related topics. Most of these are related to safety, efficiency and effectiveness of healthcare facilities, from medicines and medical aids to costly interventions by top clinics. Furthermore, the entire care-to-cure spectrum is dealt with, with attention devoted to both somatic and mental healthcare. Besides existing practices and technologies, the standing committee also focuses on new developments. Questions that come up for discussion include: How can scientific developments affect the basic insurance package? Which preconditions should be set for a responsible introduction of healthcare facilities? What is the remit of medical professionals?


  • Prof. W.A. van Gool, President of the Health Council of the Netherlands, The Hague, chairperson
  • Prof. J.G. Nijhuis, Professor of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Maastricht UMC, vice chairperson
  • Prof. T. van Achterberg, Professor of Nursery Science, KU Leuven, Belgium
  • Prof. P.J.E Bindels, Professor of General Practice, Erasmus MC Rotterdam
  • Prof. C.G. Figdor, Professor of Tumor Immunology, Radboudumc Nijmegen
  • Prof. A.W. Friedrich, Professor of Medical Microbiology, UMC Groningen
  • Prof. R.C. Hennekam, Professor of Paediatrics and Translational Medicine, Amsterdam UMC
  • Prof. B.J. Kullberg, Professor of Diseases, Radboudumc Nijmegen
  • Prof. K.G.M. Moons, Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, UMC Utrecht
  • Prof. G.J. Navis, Professor of Internal Medicine/Nephrology, UMC Groningen
  • Prof. J. Oosterlaan, Professor of Paedriatic Neuropsychology, Amsterdam AMC
  • Prof. K. Postema, Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine, UMC Groningen
  • F.E. Scheepers, Professor of Psychiatry, UMC Utrecht
  • Prof. I. Schipper, Professor of Trauma Surgery, LUMC
  • Prof. J.M.G.A. Schols, Professor of Transmural Nursing Home Care, Maastricht University
  • Prof. J.G. Sijmons, Professor by Special Appointment of Health Law, Nysingh Advocaten – Notarissen, Zwolle
  • Prof. dr. T. Swierstra, Professor of Philosophy, Maastricht University
  • Prof. dr. C.A. Uyl- de Groot, Professor of Health Technology Assessment, Erasmus MC Rotterdam
  • Prof. dr. C. Wagner, Professor of Patient Safety, NIVEL Utrecht

Scientific secretaries:

  • E.C.A. Asscher, Health Council of the Netherlands, The Hague
  • J. de Goede, Health Council of the Netherlands, The Hague
  • K.G. van der Mark-Reeuwijk, Health Council of the Netherlands, The Hague