Committee on Preconception, prenatal and neonatal screening

This committee exists to advise the ministers of the department of Health, Welfare and Sport on the whole of screenings that may be performed before and during pregnancy and after birth: preconception screening, prenatal screening and neonatal screening.

De committee uses the adjusted Wilson and Jungner criteria, as described in the advice ‘Neonatal screening: new recommendations’ (2015) and Prenatal screening (2016).

This activity is a permanent part of the Prevention focus areas.

The membership of the committee may differ from one advice to another. Because a permanent committee addresses more than one topic, potential conflicts of interests of committee members will be re-evaluated at the start of each advisory process. Moreover additional members with necessary expertise may be added to the committee to answer specific questions.


  • Prof. dr. I.D. de Beaufort, professor of Medical Ethics, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, chairperson
  • Dr. W.J. Dondorp, associate professor Biomedical Ethics, Maastricht University
  • Dr. M.M.G. Leeflang, associate professor Clinical Epidemiology, Amsterdam UMC
  • Dr. K.D. Lichtenbelt, Clinical Geneticist, UMC Utrecht
  • Dr. C.R. Lincke, paediatrician hereditary congenital disorders, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam


  • P.J. ten Broeke, Ministry for Health, Welfare and Sport, The Hague
  • A. van Gent, Ministry for Health, Welfare and Sport, The Hague
  • drs. R.H. Thöene MSc, National Institute for Public Health and the Environment, Bilthoven

Scientific secretaries:

  • dr. F. Büchner, Health Council, The Hague
  • dr. S. Kalkman, Health Council, The Hague